The Milk Memoirs

One part chronicle, one part resource of all things breastfeeding and family life…with a good dose of fun,crafts & mommy realness

Homemade Christmas cookies:always a winner as handmade gifts or even for a Christmas kiddy activity

Leave a comment

A small batch of the Christmasy crunchiness I'm handing out this year.

A small batch of the Christmasy crunchiness I’m handing out this year.

So I have some really lovely neighbours. And I grew up in a neighbourhood where when new neighbours moved in, my mom would bake them something wonderful, then she and my dad go over and introduce themselves. Others did the same, a few did not, even though they always enjoyed the gesture. But that didn’t matter- whether they returned the kindness or not – it was her gesture of love & kindness, not anything else.

I loved it. I always thought it was so charming, so much so, I naturally adopted it when we moved into our new neighbourhood. Now, whilst my baking aint exactly just like mom’s, I think my wares are good enough to show my neighbours that we care. So I thought I’d share with you what Im sending over this Xmas.Although, given my Xmas rush I’m doing right now, my photography ain’t exactly stellar either.

A small batch of the Christmasy crunchiness I'm handing out this year.

A small batch of the Christmasy crunchiness I’m handing out this year.

The cookie recipe I used, as well as the whole method, can be found on an earlier post of mine over here– it really is a simple one. Promise! (read the comments, and you’ll see)

These are the variations in decorations that bring the festive feel to it:I hope you have fun making them. Maybe you might want to pull your munchkins into the kitchen with you. I know my smallies always have a blast there.( And make a helluva mess that inevitably leave me thinking, why did I ask you to help me again? But, trust me, there’s so much they’re taking from it. And Im not just referring to all the cookie dough they try to steal) Language development, fine motor skills, tastes, textures, measurements, and just loads of laughter!

My little "helper" deserved her payoff.(she was hells more useful now than back at Valentines! So is there is hope for me) She agreed to model the cookie for me, but eventually couldn't resist.

My little “helper” deserved her payoff.(she was hells more useful now than back at Valentines! So is there is hope for me) She agreed to model the cookie for me, but eventually couldn’t resist.

But mostly, for me, its all the memories they’ll be making with you!

Happy baking and munching, mah readers!

Author: mommabeartrax

Mother of two (and counting), pregnant with the third and have a sweet little angel in heaven. A very happy wifey, blogger, lover of life and laughter, a clumsy swimmer, loyal friend, Im funnier in my head than I actually am, I am a qualified HypnoBirthing Child Birth Educator, I get inexplicably excited about good food, baking & crafts. Although, I think baking and crafts are just trying to fill a void that my Kenpo and gym-rat days used to fill. Lastly, according to the rest of the world, I fix your printer. But I'm actually a Software Architect.

Leave a Reply

